Roundware: a new approach to locative apps and sound art; Halsey Burgund in interview with Hamish Sewell

Online

Event details

2020-09-02 21:00
21:00 UTC
FREE

Halsey Burgund is a fellow at the MIT Open Documentary Lab where he researches new forms of audio documentary. For the past decade, his work has focused on contributory location-based audio installations. His app, Roundware (https://roundware.org/), is an open-source audio augmented reality platform for collecting, organizing and re-presenting audio via smartphones and the web.
Using a simple Listen/Speak interface and blending sounds in its own unique algorithm, Roundware facilitates very different approach to the immersive experience and locative narratives.
Join this (40-45 minute) live streaming discussion with Hamish Sewell, of Soundtrails, as he talk with Halsey Burgund about Roundware, what it’s doing and where it’s going.

The event will be available through Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/nenw.soundtrails

Start time:

7am AEST (UTC+10), September 3
11pm CET (UTC+2), September 2
10pm BST (UTC+1), September 2
9pm GMT (UTC), September 2
6pm BRT (UTC-3), September 2

Hamish Sewell

Hamish Sewell

SWS Advisory Board 2020 SWS Advisory Board 2021 SWS Grand Jury 2022

Hamish Sewell is the founder and primary audio producer with the geo locative platform Soundtrails. He has an extensive background in documentary radio and oral history and his works have won him international recognition and awards. For the last six y...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Also check out

Post
New
SWS22
Announcing the winners of the SWS Awards 2022

16 Jan, 2023

We're happy and proud to announce the winner and runners-up of the Sound Walk September 2022 Awards.

Walking Event
New
Flash Fiction Festival

Jude Higgins

14 - 16 Jul, 2023

Trinity College, Bristol BS9 1LE, UK

Walking Event
Master class: Building immersive audio walks – from go to whoa!

Oral History Australia

14 Oct, 2021 · All day

Launceston TAS, Australia

Free
walk · listen · café
Locative Maps: Agents of Control or Tools for Subversion?

2021-06-15 19:00

Online

Join leading locative-media scholar Jason Farman in conversation with Soundtrails founder, Hamish Sewell as they seek to peel back these issues at the core of our increasingly augmented lives. For all of you artists, cultural geographers, and disruptors who recognise the power of locative media, this one’s for you.

Post SWS21
Announcing the winners of the Sound Walk September Awards 2021

17 Jan, 2022

Not only have we made it into 2022, we are also very pleased to announce the winners and honourable mentions of the Sound Walk September Awards 2021.

Walking Piece
Armidale Catholic Precinct Soundtrail

Soundtrails (The Story Project ltd)

136 Dangar St, Armidale NSW 2350, Australia

Walking Event
New
Alzheimer’s Society’s Trek26 Events 

Alzheimer's Society

3 Jan - 9 Sep, 2023

Walking Piece
Nanango Heritage Walk

Soundtrails

Nanango QLD, Australia

Walking Piece SWS21
Bald Rock/National Parks Soundtrail

Soundtrails

Walking Piece SWS20
Walcha Sculpture Soundtrail

Soundtrails

Walcha NSW, Australia

Free
walk · listen · café
Headmap Manifesto – the utopic revolution of locative practices

2021-06-01 19:00

Online

Soundtrails founder, Hamish Sewell, and leading academic in early locative media arts, Andrea Zeffiro, as they unpack the Headmap Manifesto and the times it was written; explore what went right and what went wrong with Russell’s vision, and what relevance the Manifesto still has for today’s crop of artists and academics in our post-smartphone era of locative arts and disruptive practices.

Post SWS20
Sound Walk September 2020 Awards winners and honourable mentions

14 Jan, 2021

We're very pleased to announce the winners and honourable mentions of the Sound Walk September 2020 Awards.