My feed

SWS Winners’ circle


We meet the winners and honourable mentions of the SWS22 Awards. They discuss their work and process, and tell us what inspired them.

Last year’s winner, Laura Mitchison, took home the prize for a second time, also having come away as a winner of the SWS20 Awards.
Our Grand Jury member John Drever identified Laura’s work as a “highly evocative” soundwalk; “Are you a Ghost Hunter? affords the perfect excuse to visit the fascinating Old Church in Stoke Newington, East London.”

Tony Onuchukwu received one of the honourable mentions for his soundscape with a focus on Birling Gap.
In the soundwalk Birling Gap, Isabella Bonner-Evans and Tony Onuchukwu translate the majestic atmosphere of Birling Gap into a soundwalk, replete with a melodic soundtrack accompanying Bonner-Evans’ tranquil narration.

Another honourable mention went to Eleanor Rycroft‘s Night Walk, which follows a group of 17 women walking through Clifton Downs, in Bristol, at midnight in July 2022.
A significant area for histories of gender, sexuality and race in the city, the listener is let into this unique political act of reclaiming space through a raw and honest walk addressing critical current issues about the safety of women in a location historically associated with sex-work.

Then, Jo Scott‘s Wanders in the (wild) smart city received last year’s third honourable mention.
In it, Jo has produced a thought-provoking and beautiful soundwalk, bringing to our attention the unnoticed and overlooked, exploring the unseen digital networks monitoring and assessing our behaviour, without us being aware of this.

Join us, for a discussion on the work by these fantastic creators, followed by an open discussion on where they draw their inspiration from, and, perhaps, what’s next.


Tony Onuchukwu

Tony Onuchukwu

(United Kingdom) 

Laura Khan Mitchison

oral historian, researcher and artist 
Eleanor Rycroft

Eleanor Rycroft

Historian of walking & theatre: fascinated by bodies in motion 
Jo Scott

Jo Scott

Artist-Researcher (Portugal) 
Babak Fakhamzadeh

Babak Fakhamzadeh

Co-founder of walk · listen · create (Netherlands / Iran / Brazil) 
This event has happened

2023-09-05 18:00
2023-09-05 18:00

Video registration
Only available to registered users.


Collection · 195 items

walk · listen · café

Collection · 84 items


Collection · 257 items



SWS Winners’ circle

We meet the winners and honourable mentions of the SWS22 Awards. They discuss their work and process, and tell us what inspired them.

Wanders in the (wild) smart city LOGO
Sound walk

Wanders in the (wild) smart city

Combining song, text and binaural recordings, this sound walk prompts participants to engage with hidden digital processes in the urban landscape. It is geo-located, so through Echoes, sounds are triggered automatically in the walk locations.

Birling Gap
Sound walk

Birling Gap

An audio piece about the mythical landscape of Birling Gap – a wild cliffy landscape in East Sussex, UK

Sound walk

Night Walk: Walking Clifton Downs and Ladies Mile at midnight

Night-Walk is an output of the Walking and Re-Creation project. Our project responds to our belief that social and health inequalities are linked. and uses a historical lens on walking to address unequal access to pedestrianism in our own moment.

Sound walk

Ghosthunter N16

St Mary’s Old Church is London’s only surviving Elizabethan churchyard, where the tombstone inscriptions have been lost to weather and time. This self-directed audio trail pieces together the fragments of story. Produced October 2021.

One thought on “SWS Winners’ circle

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

dauner, daunder

A Scottish version of a walk that drifts.

Added by Alec Finlay

Encountered a problem? Report it to let us know.

  • Include the page on which you encountered the problem.
  • Describe what happened.
  • Describe what you expected to happen.