Walking with Çelebi

Be the first to favourite this. Athens, Greece

Walking piece details

Duration60 minutes
No longer available

A sound walk for mobile devices by Geert Vermeire (musical scenario), Enrique Tomás and Stefaan Van Biesen (sound artists).

A contemporary sound walk inspired by the world traveler, Evliya Çelebi, an Ottoman Turkish gentleman adventurer who travelled far and wide for over 40 years, visiting over 250 cities. He described everything he saw on his journeys, and left a record of his wanderings in 10 large volumes, the Seyahatname, or Book of Travels, “the longest and fullest travel account in Islamic literature, perhaps in world literature.” His book is full of fantasy, imaginary landscapes and invented itineraries in a world where travelling was still magical and mysterious. On the other hand Çelebi is a great geographer in the tradition of Strabo and Ptolemy. Historians have cross-referenced his descriptions of Balkan mosques, public baths and Sufi lodges with the actual sites that still stand today, and found Evliya Çelebi to be highly accurate.

The sound walk refers to the magical and to the documentary side of Evliya Çelibi’s travels, situated within the Balkan of today. An atmosphere of past wonder blends with the sounds of contemporary Balkan. Poetic soundscapes, composed for this sound walk, and field recordings of street music, city life and nature, made on location in the Balkan.

Another aspect of the traveler Çelibi that inspired us to follow Çelebi ́s footsteps in this journey of sound is his usually friendly attitude towards non-Muslims. Meetings with many persons are an essential part of his Book of Travels. As Çelibi said many times when he was far from his home, he was perfectly happy to be a nedim (intimate fellow) to strangers, a musahib (boon companion) to other travelers and “a friend of all mankind.” Sounds of human presence and sounds of life are the thread of our sound walk, always in the light of the joy of living together. As Çelebi wrote from his heart, “Most important is the companion, then the road.”

Made for the exhibition a Balkan Tale, as a travelling sound walk in Athens, Skopje, Pristina, Belgrade between 2013 – 2016.  Produced by the Goethe Institut as an European project.

An extended version as a staged sound walk with live actors was realized during the Analogio Festival in Athens, September 2017.  Directed by Sissy Papathanassiou and Geert Vermeire.

Geert Vermeire

Geert Vermeire is a curator, poet and an interdisciplinary artist, living and working between Brazil, Greece and Belgium. As collaborator and team member of escoitar.org, noTours.org and CGeomap.eu, and co-coordinator of the global community event Sound Wa...

Near Athens, Greece

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Also check out

walk · listen · café
How to navigate a world made up of only sound?

2021-05-04 18:00

Online

Stijn Dickel will discuss his artistic research on semantics for sounds, with the objective of enriching our listening culture.

Walking Piece
Listening to the other

Athens, Greece

Walking Piece SWS19
Passing – Going – Coming

Masp - Av. Paulista - Bela Vista, São Paulo - State of São Paulo, Brazil

Walking Piece
Resounding Cities (Athens, Lisbon, Brussels)

Athens, Greece

Walking Event
It’s a walking world, walking with Prespa – a meeting with the HUBs (seminar)

2021-07-10 11:00

Online

Post
Walking Bodies / Walking Art – Walking Practices : the book of Prespa 2019

12 May, 2021

The book with all actions and papers of the Walking Arts Encounters/Conference (WAC) 2019 is now available in a printed and a digital format. The publication is in full color, with hundreds of photographs, hundreds of written contributions from all over the world, and 567 pages.

Walking Piece
A Knocking Bird

Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

Walking Piece
Geolocated poetry in Ghent (S.M.A.K.)

S.M.A.K., Jan Hoetplein, Gent, Belgium

Post
Grateful Walking on Earth Day 2021

22 Apr, 2021

Share your gratitude with the Earth during a walk in pandemic times. Share with us a moment of gratitude for a place, for the earth, by sending your audio story and your location, together with a picture, a drawing, a small text, to our collaborative Gratitude locative media map and webapp for walking.

Walking Event
New
SWS21
Sound Walk City · prelude

Cona

10 Sep - 10 Oct, 2021

Ljubljana, Slovenia

Cona and walk · listen · create present Sound Walk City · prelude, a festival of sound walks, performances and sound works, coinciding with Sound Walk September 2021.

Walking Event
New
Meeting of the Waters – Locative Media Oceania

18 Sep - 4 Oct, 2021

FREE

Online

walk · listen · café
Walking in the Anthropocene – Planetary Walking

2021-07-12 18:00

Online

Walking arts today became a response to the deep environmental global crisis we are facing today. Walking is one of the keys to contextualize and deepen our understanding and relation with the planet place we live on. It is more and more clear that the future will be ecological or there will not be a future for our species. Walking our planet is the opportunity to explore this question.